Street Style Wales

Knitting, stitching, thrifting, crocheting

A for Anna

1 Comment

DSC_0469Although I’ve been a fan of By Hand London patterns for a few years now, I’ve never sewn up an Anna dress. That changed this past week, when I finally got round to sewing up the fabric and pattern that White Tree Fabrics sent to me before Christmas.

I find the Anna dress a really wearable pattern and it’s quick to sew up too (perfect for beginners), so I’m surprised I haven’t made it before. I love the A line skirt and I love the length so I know I’ll wear this one again and again.

DSC_0499

I’m not too keen on the sleeves and neckline, which is what I think put me off to begin with. It’s not that I don’t like them. I do, it’s just that I don’t really wear cap sleeves and this kind of dress isn’t my go-to dress of choice. But I have really enjoyed making it and I imagine this will be one I choose to wear when I’m looking to wear something different. It’ll also be good for work.

I used the Tilda Olivia fabric in red as I have a shortage of red dresses and wanted to go a little out of my comfort zone. I’ve used Tilda fabrics before and they’re so nice to work with.

DSC_0464

Much like the other patterns I’ve used lately, I really like the fit of this dress. By Hand London patterns generally make great dresses and the Anna, one of their earliest patterns, is equally as lovely as their other makes.

I will certainly be making another Anna. I just need to work out which fabric to use next.

Pattern and fabric kindly gifted to me from White Tree Fabrics

Author: Aneira

Magazine Journalist who trained at Cardiff School of Journalism. Interests include crafting, fashion, searching for vintage, photography, writing and reading great literature

One thought on “A for Anna

  1. Looks gorgeous. I love an Anna!!

Leave a Reply

