Street Style Wales

Knitting, stitching, thrifting, crocheting

Sewing co-ords

2 Comments

For a little while now I’ve toyed with the idea of making a co-ord top and skirt. I’ve seen others wearing them together and they look great, but I’m not sure I could pull of the whole midriff-on-show thing, so I think my best bet is to make an overlapping type of garment.

Perhaps something a little like this (click through for the original link – found via Pinterest):

I like the idea of a pale blue, but I would like to make something a little more wearable this autumn/winter. A darker gingham would be perfect, don’t you think? I really love this one in navy blue from Ebay. I might even make another in this tartan because tartan dresses always remind me of Christmas for some reason. I think it’s because the classic Yellow Pages advert was always on when I was a child.

As for a pattern, the top is made using this sewing pattern and this Salme skirt pattern could also work for the bottom. I think it would even be achievable to make my own skirt pattern.

If you want any more co-ord inspiration, I’ve pinned lots on my ‘DIYs and Crafts’ board. See here.

Author: Aneira

Magazine Journalist who trained at Cardiff School of Journalism. Interests include crafting, fashion, searching for vintage, photography, writing and reading great literature

2 thoughts on “Sewing co-ords

  1. Pingback: 2014: A round up | Street Style Wales

  2. Pingback: The hunt for the perfect peplum top | Street Style Wales

Leave a Reply

