Street Style Wales

Knitting, stitching, thrifting, crocheting

The birthday dress

3 Comments

IMG_6760

I’m pretty sure I haven’t mentioned this yet but I’ve teamed up with the lovely people at White Tree Fabrics to become one of their bloggers. This is so exciting for me as it gives me a reason to sew and blog lots of dress patterns, on a semi regular basis.

I finished the above dress the weekend before last which also happened to be my birthday weekend, so I’ve aptly named it the birthday dress. I already love it so, so much and will definitely be using the pattern again. Next time, though, I think I’ll make it slightly shorter and size down a bit as it’s slightly too big. I might also lengthen the straps a bit and bring down the neckline.IMG_6755

White Tree Fabrics kindly supplied me with the fabric, pattern and notions of my choice and I sat down and made it. I chose the Vogue 8723 pattern because I liked the high neckline and thick straps and I don’t have anything like this in my wardrobe already. Although I loved the pattern (it reminds me a bit of the By Hand London Flora dress), gathering the skirt was probably the worst part. I’m a pleats kind of girl, so I suppose that gathering will always seem more fiddly. I also had to put in an extra panel in the sides of the dress as the fabric wasn’t wide enough but it turned out fine in the end.

I chose the Tilda Martine fabric as it just appealed to me. I have such a love for florals and the fabric is so lovely that these photos don’t really do it justice.

IMG_6797

A close-up of the fabric. Isn't it a beauty?

A close-up of the fabric. Isn’t it a beauty?

I’m looking forward to trying out some more patterns in the future. In the meantime, why not check out what other bloggers have made, here.

Author: Aneira

Magazine Journalist who trained at Cardiff School of Journalism. Interests include crafting, fashion, searching for vintage, photography, writing and reading great literature

3 thoughts on “The birthday dress

  1. Pingback: 2014: A round up | Street Style Wales

  2. Pingback: Pattern mixing: Elisalex meets Vogue V8723 | Street Style Wales

  3. Pingback: The green gables dress | Street Style Wales

Leave a Reply

