Street Style Wales

Knitting, stitching, thrifting, crocheting

A pinch of mustard: a completed elastic skirt

Leave a comment

IMG_4808

A little while ago I picked up some remnants of a silky type fabric from a local craft shop for £2.00. Immediately I fell in love with the fabric, which was a lovely mustard yellow colour and I had lots of ideas of what I could make out of it. I wanted to make a skirt, but I also dreamt of using the leftovers to make a large, drapey scarf. Unfortunately, there wasn’t that much of the fabric (and none left in the shop) and so I had to settle for making only one thing – the skirt.

I followed my own really easy tutorial and completed it pretty quickly. As I wanted quite a full skirt, the amount of fabric I had (I think it was about 1 1/2 – 2 metres) was perfect and the silky texture gave  it a nice drape. I would have liked to have made the scarf too, but if I ever get bored of the skirt, I’ll just unpick it and sew the scarf.

Have you ever grabbed any bargain fabric? I’d love to know what you bought. Let me know in the comments.

IMG_4804

The skirt goes really well with navy blues

 

Author: Aneira

Magazine Journalist who trained at Cardiff School of Journalism. Interests include crafting, fashion, searching for vintage, photography, writing and reading great literature

Leave a Reply

