Street Style Wales

Knitting, stitching, thrifting, crocheting

Take two dresses

2 Comments

ImageImage

I bought these dresses around the same time. As much as I love them though, they’re both far too short for me now. In the year or so that I’ve had them, I haven’t had enough wear out of them to cover what I spent.

I got the first one in the Topshop sale, after admiring it on many blogs I read at the time. It was quite cheap really and that was probably the reason why I bought it, knowing it was indecently short on me (I’m 5″8 so I have to be careful with dresses). I took it home and unstitched the hem straightaway, hoping I might be able to get away with the unfinished, slightly longer look. But it is still too short and no amount of pairing it with leggings or thick tights is ever going to change this.

The second one is from H&M and I love it so, so much. This is probably the one that I’ve had the most wear out of, but this one sadly shrank after the first wash and I’m sure it shrank again in later washes. I think this is a fault of some H&M dresses though, as I’ve known the same thing happen to friends and family. I have worn this dress once or twice since it shrank, but I cannot get away with it any longer. It doesn’t help that I prefer to buy longer dresses now either.

So I’m on a mission. I don’t want to waste space in my wardrobe anymore, and I certainly don’t want to get rid of two dresses that I still really like. I don’t think I’ll be able to lengthen the H&M dress, so I’m planning on shortening that one a bit (while still keeping a bit of the length in case it shrinks again), but I already have a plan to lengthen the Topshop one with some fabric I already have. I’ll leave that for another post though.

Have you ever had any problems with dresses/tops shrinking? If so, what have you done to combat this? I’d be really interested to know.

Author: Aneira

Magazine Journalist who trained at Cardiff School of Journalism. Interests include crafting, fashion, searching for vintage, photography, writing and reading great literature

2 thoughts on “Take two dresses

  1. Pingback: Easy DIYs: Lengthening a dress | streetstylewales

  2. Pingback: 2013: A crafting round up | Street Style Wales

Leave a Reply

