Street Style Wales

Knitting, stitching, thrifting, crocheting

My new fabric

2 Comments

Some fabric I found at a charity shop

The fabric I found at a charity shop

I’ve mentioned the benefits of searching charity shops for fabric many times before and this time was no exception. During the first day of snow last week, I went for a walk to my nearest one and stumbled upon this wonderful fabric.

I’m guessing that it hails from the 70s or thereabouts and it was originally a curtain. Sadly, there wasn’t another curtain to match, so it won’t make anything too elaborate, but I’m planning to sew up a simple a-line skirt or a top out of it.

Ideally, I think I’d like to keep a few small squares of it back too, as one day I’d like to make a quilt, by incorporating all my different, vintage fabrics together. I really love finding an alternative use for something old.

Has anyone else had any luck with remaking any charity shop finds? And if you’ve got any other ideas of what I could make out of it, then let me know.

Author: Aneira

Magazine Journalist who trained at Cardiff School of Journalism. Interests include crafting, fashion, searching for vintage, photography, writing and reading great literature

2 thoughts on “My new fabric

  1. That’s so pretty!

  2. I have fabric envy…it is so beautiful.

Leave a Reply

