Street Style Wales

Knitting, stitching, thrifting, crocheting

The Toast clothes sale

2 Comments

Earlier today, I ventured out to a village hall for the annual Toast sale. Toast is a shop local to my hometown which sells ladies and men’s clothing as well as beautiful home-wares. It was started in Wales in 1997 and currently has nine shops in the UK. Unfortunately, much as I love the designs, it is usually a little pricey for me and so when I learnt of this weekend’s sale, I jumped at the chance to browse and stock up on some of the company’s classic clothing.

Clothes were strewn all over the hall and shoppers had to rummage through to find the bargains

Like many other jumble sales, the clothes were strewn all over tables in the hall and shoppers had to look carefully through to find the bargains. But this only added to the excitement of the sale and everyone there soon got into the spirit of finding themselves a good buy, with many friendly strangers admiring and helping others by observing what clothes suited them.

Bargain hunters had to have a good eye to look through all the clothes

The hall was quite busy for a Sunday morning

There were quite a few good bargains and some which weren’t so great, as unfortunately many of the clothes had minor snags and tears and some of the shoes had been worn and returned. But all the imperfections were highlighted by stickers and labels and some were still a good buy even so. And I suppose it’s a small price to pay for shoes and clothes that were originally approximately £100 and upwards.

Some of the items I picked up

Shoes were on sale for a fraction of their original price. This pair were £10

I came away with some really nice items, including a silk dress, which I paid £15 for, but sadly not the brogue-like shoes I could only find one of.

Author: Aneira

Magazine Journalist who trained at Cardiff School of Journalism. Interests include crafting, fashion, searching for vintage, photography, writing and reading great literature

2 thoughts on “The Toast clothes sale

  1. Hi I was wondering if you knew when toast were having another sale like this. I was at one a few years ago and it was great but not they seem like a closely guarded secret!

    • No, I’m sorry, I don’t. They do seem to be a closely guarded secret, don’t they? I think they happen every six months or so, but if I find out, I’ll post about it on the blog. Hope that helps!

Leave a Reply

