Street Style Wales

Knitting, stitching, thrifting, crocheting

Strummer of Love: Crafting

Leave a comment

Crafting was a big part of this year’s Strummer of Love festival and my friends and I certainly took advantage of this. After all, what is more exciting to a craft enthusiast like me than the appeal of a festival which incorporated it into the schedule?

Here’s what I made:

Floral crown headbands

These floral crown headbands were the perfect addition to our festival outfits and what was great about making them was that was they were completely unique and personal to us. Here’s how we made them:

Masking tape was wrapped around gardening wire to make a base for our floral headbands

Flowers were then added to the headband for decoration

Charlotte adding flowers to her headband

We added small flowers to our headbands for an understated floral crown

Me showing my half-finished headband

And the finished result

Charlotte wears her finished headband

Friendship bracelets

Friendship bracelets are synonymous with schooldays (I used to make loads of them to wear myself and to hand out to friends) so making them at Strummer of Love felt like a nice nod to my childhood.

Friendship bracelets were made by either plaiting or knotting threads together

My plaited bracelet

Wearing my bracelet proudly on my arm

Charlotte and Bethan at work

Native american headbands

On the final day, we were able to make these wonderful headbands to proudly wear around the site, which was a nice way to finish off our weekend.

Bethan sews feathers to her headband

A piece of fabric was sewn to the elastic base

Feathers were glued onto felt which was then sewn onto the elastic

Beads could be sewn on to add an extra something

My finished headband

There were plenty of craft supplies at the Handmade Hangout

Me with my finished headband

If you’d like to read more about my experience at the Strummer of Love festival, please click here.

Author: Aneira

Magazine Journalist who trained at Cardiff School of Journalism. Interests include crafting, fashion, searching for vintage, photography, writing and reading great literature

Leave a Reply

