Street Style Wales

Knitting, stitching, thrifting, crocheting

Drafting a pattern

2 Comments

Here’s a sneak preview of a dress pattern that I’m currently working on. I don’t usually follow patterns, as ever since I’ve been sewing, I’ve had a better idea of what I wanted to make in my head. This has caused some sewing disasters in the past though, so I quickly learnt to draft my own patterns using newspaper, which helps me to work out whether the pattern is too big or small. I much prefer working from my own patterns as I can make an item of clothing exactly to my preferences then.

I drew around the top half of a favourite dress to get the shape for my pattern

I’m not going to give you a tutorial on drafting your own patterns because, believe me, I’m nowhere near perfect when it comes to pattern drafting and I’m sure there are many tutorials out there which are far better at explaining it than I am.

But, the dress is coming along nicely and I’ll post about it when it’s ready.

 

Author: Aneira

Magazine Journalist who trained at Cardiff School of Journalism. Interests include crafting, fashion, searching for vintage, photography, writing and reading great literature

2 thoughts on “Drafting a pattern

  1. Oooh, I definitely agree with you that drafting patterns is better than following patterns! Good job =D

Leave a Reply

